More than 8 orientation, and cause error after imported 3d scene into pvsyst

garf

Hi Everyone,

I have a project where the installed capacity is about 3.5MWp. In my design I used CSI 655W PV module.

I built the 3D model of my project using sketchup + skelion.

the following is my face result generate by skelion basic report:-

image.png.982fe923176035a72737c1c6247097a6.png

As you can see I have more than 8 different orientation in my case.

After I exported the 3d model from sketchup and imported it to pvsyst...

PVsyst said more than 2188 nos PV module don't have orientation... i believe it is because PVsyst only can add up to 8 orientation right?

In this case, how do i result the issue ya?

Thanks for advice, I am new in PVsyst.... 

image.thumb.png.8ca99c7598959075086313dddc31e3b0.png

Hi Garf,

You're right, currently PVsyst cannot handle more than 8 orientations. You will need to group some orientations together (averaged orientations) so that you get 8 orientations max. To do this, you can use the tool for managing orientations in the 3D scene:

image.thumb.png.f3f697c3899f634f09cdf45cf348a52d.png

FYI, we are currently working on a new major version of PVsyst which will allow you to have as much orientation as you want. This version is planned for this year if all goes well.

thanks for feedback and advice.

Recently I have another issue regarding the shading analysis.

When I import the 3D scene of my 3.5MWp project in pvsyst, i only took a short while to import the 3d model of the project (export from sketchup, 3ds file).

After that project, I noticed Pvsyst took a very long time to import 3ds model export from sketchup (for my other small project). many times it just hang there and unable to process further in importing 3ds file.

Wondering what went wrong.

thanks if anyone can advise.

• 2 years later...
Posted (edited)

Hi everyone,