PVsyst's forum

Welcome on PVsyst's forum.
It is currently Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:33 pm

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:42 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:04 am
Posts: 5
Hi,

Most high quality modules these days have a positive tolerance for nominal power. However, the factory flash tests themselves generally have a tolerance of +-3% and thus the nominal power may be less than the flash test result.

Should this flash test tolerance generally taken into account in the Module Quality Loss input?

Regards
Andrew


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 7:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:29 pm
Posts: 1680
Taking the flash-test uncertainty into account in this parameter would be equivalent to a "Worst case" choice.
By respect to the factory flash-tests, you can also take the eventual LID losses into account.

Please see my comments on How to define the "Module Quality loss" parameter in the FAQ


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:42 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:08 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Chennai
Hi Andre,

In version 6, both tolerance limits are specified, and PVsyst will choose a quarter of the difference between these values. For example, with -3..+3%, it will be 1.5%, and with positive sorting 0..+3%, it will be -0.75% (i.e. a gain).

This module quality loss we have to manually enter or automatically PVSyst will take the right value. We actually manually entering this value till now. Please clarify.

'a quarter of the difference between these values' on which basis this calculation?- Please Clarify

Thank you


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 7:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:29 pm
Posts: 1680
As explained in the FAQ:

- At the creation of a calculation version, the Module quality loss is pre-defined at a value according to the module's tolerances. This is a default value.
The quarter of the value between Min and Max tolerance is my own choice.

- This parameter is at your disposal: you can change this value for taking any other phenomenon into account, according to your requirements or your judgement.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 8:35 am 

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:08 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Chennai
If module has only positive tolerance, we have to give module quality loss = (-ve) to 0 or we can give (+ve) also.
Please clarify.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 6:27 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:29 pm
Posts: 1680
The parameter for the module quality represents a loss.
Therefore if it is positive, it will lead to a loss, and if it is negative, it will produce a gain during the simulation.

For example for a module specified as (+0 .. +3%) tolerance, the default value will be -0.75%.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Module Quality Loss
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:41 am 

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:08 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Chennai
ya. thats fine.
what i am asking is "If module has only positive tolerance, there will be gain only know?"
Please Clarify.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited