PVsyst's forum

Welcome on PVsyst's forum.
It is currently Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:03 pm

All times are UTC+02:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2016 5:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:54 am
Posts: 31
PVsyst cannot run in licensed mode on system that does not provide any hard disk identifier.

We have already observed such issues on WMware virtual machines that have only SCSI hard drives. Adding one virtual IDE or SATA hard drive on such machines will allow PVsyst to run in licensed mode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 5:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:54 am
Posts: 31
How to verify that your computer provide a hard disk identifier:

Before you activate your license, you can verify with PVsyst weather your computer provides a hard disk identifier by doing the following:
  • 1. Run PVsyst and open the license menu
    2. Open the synchronize dialog and check content of external synchronization step 2 box.
The string following 'HARDDISK=' should contain a hard disk identifier. Please refer to your virtual PC software documentation on how to configure it in order to provide a hard disk identifier.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:54 am
Posts: 31
PVsyst cannot run in licensed mode on system that provide a hard disk identifier that change on each reboot.

We have already observed such issues on WMware virtual machines that have only SCSI hard drives. Adding a virtual IDE or SATA hard drives on such machines will add a hard disk identifier that does not change on each reboot. This will allow PVsyst to run in licensed mode.

Please do the following actions to solve this issue:

1. Add a new virtual hard disk of type IDE on your virtual machine

2. Verify that you have now a stable hard disk identifier:

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2424&p=11307#p6845

3. If your license is already activated, ask PVsyst Support to deactivate it

4. Activate your license.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 11:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:12 am
Posts: 126
Use PVsyst on a Microsoft Azure Virtual Machine

WARNING : this will describe how to use PVsyst on an Azure Virtual Machine, which is different from Azure Virtual Desktop. Azure Virtual Dekstop is not suitable for PVsyst as it is running on a specific Windows version which is actually a Server version.

To be able to use PVsyst on Azure VM you need to make sure that you attach a secondary hard drive to the VM because the OS harddisk ID will always change when rebooting the machine.
So basically you can create a basic HDD (not even an SSD) of 32GB (minimum available size now) and attach it to the VM prior to activating PVsyst.

If you already activated PVsyst on the machine, you need to contact our support in order to reset your license : https://www.pvsyst.com/contact/


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited